A Mexican in rural Germany

Edgar Robles, Six Sigma Black Belt Project Leader Fresenius Medical Care, Schweinfurt, Germany

I graduated with a bachelor’s degree in mechatronics in 2005 in Guadalajara, in my home country of Mexico. I then began my career in Mexico, but I couldn’t forget how much I’d enjoyed the semesters I spent abroad in Esslingen as a student. So I moved back to Germany in 2006 to start a master’s degree in biomedical engineering in Aachen.

I first came into contact with the health care sector through a part-time job I took for a manufacturer of medical equipment. It was then that I realized I wanted to work in health care. I completed my master’s degree at Fresenius Medical Care in Schweinfurt, in the R&D department. I really enjoyed the atmosphere and team spirit there, and I decided I wanted to continue working there in the future. My application was successful and Fresenius offered me a position in project management at the Schweinfurt site, where company processes are organized in line with Six Sigma and are highly customer-oriented. Six Sigma project managers uphold these principles using stringent project management processes and a wide range of activities.

My work is a lot of fun. To do something well, you have to be enthusiastic about it.

As well as technical abilities, my Six Sigma training also covered soft skills like team leadership and facilitation. With Six Sigma, our aims are twofold: to ensure high quality products and to continuously improve processes. We work toward these goals at our own sites and those of our customers and suppliers. Employee participation and motivation play a major role in this – when it comes to new procedures, we try to encourage everyone to play their part.

I see Six Sigma as an excellent springboard for the rest of my career. One of my goals is to be more active in company strategy on an international level. As someone with international experience, this will allow me to play to my strengths!

Ein Mexikaner in der deutschen Provinz

Edgar Robles, Six Sigma Black Belt Projektleiter Fresenius Medical Care, Schweinfurt

Nach Abschluss meines Bachelorstudiums der Mechatronik 2005 in Guadalajara (Mexiko) habe ich dort meine ersten Berufserfahrungen gesammelt. Doch die positiven Erfahrungen aus meinen beiden Auslandssemestern in Esslingen haben mich nicht losgelassen, weshalb ich mich für ein Masterstudium in Biomedical Engineering in Aachen beworben habe und 2006 zurück nach Deutschland gekommen bin.

Durch einen Nebenjob in der Herstellung medizinischer Geräte bin ich mit der Gesundheitsbranche erstmalig in Kontakt gekommen. Seitdem wusste ich, dass ich in dieser Richtung weitermachen will. Meine Masterarbeit habe ich dann auch bei der Fresenius Medical Care am Standort Schweinfurt im Bereich Forschung & Entwicklung geschrieben. Ich war begeistert von der Atmosphäre und der Teamkultur, die ich dort erlebt habe. Mir war klar: Hier möchte ich auch in Zukunft arbeiten. Ich habe dann eine Stelle im Projektmanagement angeboten bekommen, welches bei uns im Werk sehr kundenorientiert nach der „Six-Sigma-Kultur“ ausgerichtet ist. Six Sigma richtet Unternehmensprozesse auf den Kunden aus. Hierzu bedienen sich Six-Sigma-Projektleiter eines straffen Projektmanagements und eines umfangreichen Methodenbaukastens.

Mein Job macht mir sehr viel Spaß. Man muss Begeisterung spüren, um eine Sache gut zu machen.

Dafür habe ich in der Six-Sigma-Ausbildung nicht nur technische, sondern auch Soft Skills, wie Teamführung und Moderation, gelernt. Es geht uns zum einen um die Qualität der Produkte und zum anderen auch um die ständige Verbesserung der Prozesse. An diesem Ziel arbeiten wir an unseren eigenen Standorten sowie bei unseren Kunden und Lieferanten. Eine große Rolle spielt die Einbindung und Motivierung der Mitarbeiter, damit sie ihren Teil zu den veränderten Abläufen beitragen.

Six Sigma ist für mich ein gutes Sprungbrett für meine weitere Karriereentwicklung. Mein Ziel ist es, in Zukunft im weltweiten Umfeld der Fresenius Medical Care noch stärker strategisch tätig zu sein. Dann kann ich meine eigene Internationalität so richtig ausspielen.